My plan to become a runner

April 11, 2009 at 2:43 am Leave a comment

Ok, quick exercise background. I’ve always been fairly active and have pretty much maintained my weight for the past few years. However, I would like to feel more in shape and work on improving my strength and toning. I worked with a personal trainer recently to develop a strength program that can be pretty tough. I try to do it 3 times a week, but sometimes fall a little short. Here’s the program (all exercises are 12 reps, 2 sets, sorry if the name isn’t exactly right, but I know what they mean!):

Legs  
Leg press machine no add’l weight
Step ups onto bench 8# dumbbells
Seated leg curl 40#
Dead Lifts 10#
Back  
Lat pulldown 30#
Seated rwo 40#
Back extension 5#
Chest  
Cable Cross 15#
Shoulders  
Shoulder Raise 8#
Front Raise on Bosu 3#
Side Raise on Bosu 3#
Biceps  
Cable Curls 20#
Triceps  
Rope Pulldowns 30#
Abdominals  
Ab Crunch  
Sides  
Chair  

 

 

So that’s strength….and I’m still crazy enough to think I’ll have energy to run some days too! 😛 There’s a nice track nearby, so Hubs & I will go to it a few times a week. I have no endurance when it comes to running though, so I found the following program that I’m trying to stick to Runner’s World 10-week Training Program . I’m still on the first week, but glad that I have a program.

Tomorrow I’m planning on starting the day with a good breakfast (maybe some egg whites in some type of omelet) then hitting the gym. I’m hosting Easter this Sunday – menu to come! – so I still have lots of prep to do!

 

Maggie

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hello! Rainy Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Mini Posts

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Disclaimer

Although I am an RD, information in here is not to be used as medical advice. All exercise programs/nutrition are targeted toward my own personal health and goals. Before starting any program, be sure to check with your doctor and/or registered dietitian. To find an RD in your area, go to www.eatright.org .

