Kraving Keurig – Review

April 15, 2009 at 10:59 pm Leave a comment

IMG_4789

One of my absolute favorite kitchen appliances is our Keurig. And since I tell everyone how much I love it, I figured I should post on my blog about it too :).

Hubs & I used to be hardcore Starbucks drinkers – we’d go there at least 3 times a week (sometimes multiple times a day!) and get our coffee buzz. When the baristas knew us by name and drink order, we realized we might be overdoing it. Plus, I started tracking how much we were spending and it was RIDICULOUS! Really now, we could put that money to much better use.

When it came time that we were moving into a new apartment, one of the things I wanted to get was a coffee maker. Basic item, I mean, who doesn’t have one? However, hubs pointed out that he would never actually make coffee, as it involved using filters, measuring things out, getting the water in the machine, etc. I agreed, and realized that it may no be the best fit for us. Now, I have to give him full credit for suggesting the Keurig as I still had some hesitations. I wasn’t sure if it would have coffee varieties that I liked, how would I entertain and serve coffee to lots of people (even though we rarely have lots of people over), etc. Finally though I gave in, and am SO glad I did!

The Keurig brews each cup individually, and you pick your “K Cup” to insert into the machine to brew in your choice of 3 different sizes (our machine has that, but you can get a cheaper version that has only 1 or 2 brew sizes). We’ve gone through the variety box, and a few other flavors, and here are our picks:

  • Caribou Coffee Caribou Blend (medium, smooth coffee with great overall flavor)
  • Caribou Coffee Daybreak Blend (lighter coffee)
  • Gloria Jean’s French Vanilla (good, although it doesn’t beat DD)
  • Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut (nice nutty flavor)
  • Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Tea
  • Bigelow Earl Grey

 

Definitely a great buy and makes coffee and tea making (and cleaning up!) much easier. 🙂

Anyone else have one? Any flavors that you’d recommend?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Molto Leftovers Aaaaand I’m back!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Mini Posts

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Disclaimer

Although I am an RD, information in here is not to be used as medical advice. All exercise programs/nutrition are targeted toward my own personal health and goals. Before starting any program, be sure to check with your doctor and/or registered dietitian. To find an RD in your area, go to www.eatright.org .

